Dennis G. Peters Memorial Symposium

April 15, 2023 Indiana University Bloomington

Schedule of Events

8:30 am	Continental breakfast	Dennis G. Peters Memorial Courtyard	
9:30 am	Session 1	Harry G. Day Lecture Hall, Chemistry 122	
9:30 am	Welcoming remarks by Steve Tait , Chair, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University, Caroline Jarrold , former Chair (2018–2022), Department of Chemistry, Indiana University, and Rick Van Kooten , Executive Dean, College of Arts + Sciences, Indiana University		
9:45 am	David Clemmer , Distinguished Professor and Robert & Marjorie Mann Chair, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University		
10:00 am	Dan Little , Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California Santa Barbara		
10:15 am	Kevin Moeller , Professor, Department of Chemistry, Washington University in St. Louis		
10:30 am	Break	Dennis G. Peters Memorial Courtyard	
11:00 am	Session 2	Harry G. Day Lecture Hall, Chemistry 122	
11:00 am	Lane Baker , Professor and Dr. Carl D. McAfee '90 Chair in Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University		
11:15 am	Henry White , Distinguished Professor and Widtsoe Presidential Endowed Chair in Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of Utah		
11:30 am	Mohammad Mubarak, Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Jordan		
11:45 am	Jill Robinson , Teaching Professor and Director of Undergraduate Students, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University		
12:00 pm	Lunch—On your own in downtow lunch can be provided.	n Bloomington. For those with mobility issues,	

<u>2:00 pm</u>	Session 3	Harry G. Day Lecture Hall, Chemistry 122
2:00 pm	Ruben Portugues , Professor, Institute of Neuroscience – TUM, nephew of Professor Peters	
2:15 pm	Jack Crandall, Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University	
2:30 pm	Milos Novotny , Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University	
2:45 pm	Gary Hieftje , Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Robert & Marjorie Mann Chair, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University	
3:00 pm	Break	Dennis G. Peters Memorial Courtyard
3:30 pm	Session 4	Harry G. Day Lecture Hall, Chemistry 122
3:30 pm	Shelley Minteer , Dale and Susan Poulter Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry and Associate Chair of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of Utah	
3:45 pm	Amir Hosseini, postdoctoral scholar, Department of Chemistry, University of Utah	
4:00 pm	Michael Pence , Ph.D. candidate, Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign	
4:15 pm	Brian Willett, former Ph.D. Research Scientist, Carestream Health, Oakdale, MN	
4:30 pm	William Carroll, Adjunct Professor, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University; former President (2005), American Chemical Society	
5:00 pm	Social Gathering	Indiana Memorial Union, Frangipani Room
6:00 pm	Dinner	Indiana Memorial Union, Frangipani Room
8:00 pm	After-Dinner Gathering	The Glen at the Irish Lion

General contact information:

Stephen Jacobson: 812-679-8121 or <u>jacobson@indiana.edu</u> Eric McKenzie: 910-391-2761 or <u>emckenz@iu.edu</u>